Hey everyone, today I wanted to share a great article on trust! This article was written by one of the incredible leaders in my team. I hope you enjoy!

God bless, Dan Hawkins

Trust

Most of my adult life was spent trying to overcome the negative things from my past. The abuse created a shame in me that was embedded so deeply it tainted every area of my life.  On the outside I appeared to be put together and “normal”, whatever that is, but inside the war raged on between my “truth” and “God’s truth”. As a Christian, I read every Christian book I could in an attempt to grow and overcome the negative effects of shame. I read scripture and tried to apply it to my life.  I did grow and learn but some aspects of shame continued. One area in particular was in the area of trust.

Over the years, trust had been broken on so many levels that it was simply safer to not trust anyone. I refused to allow anyone to really get close to me because I believed if they really knew me, they wouldn’t like me and they would reject me.  Oh I could be friendly on the outside, but as soon as anyone got close, I would push them away. I didn’t want to open my heart to anyone because I believed if I did – they would hurt me. Living this way was so frustrating and lonely. Over the years it seemed to get worse. Even being close with my husband, children and grandchildren became difficult. I had successfully created a “safe” bubble to live in. But it was very lonely.

Enter Team, LIFE and Orrin and Laurie Woodward though my son Dan (and Lisa) Hawkins. What I believed to be a leadership development business turned into being a LIFE saving business. Oh I was a Christian. But I wasn’t living. As Mark and I dug into the training materials including CDs, DVDs and books our marriage, our finances, and even in our faith grew. Every book – every CD took me farther and farther down the healing path. Recently our group read The Speed of Trust by Stephen M.R. Covey.

In the beginning of the book there is a quote by Henry David Thoreau “For every thousand people hacking at the leaves of evil, there is one striking at the roots.” I realized I was hacking at the leaves and I needed to focus on the root of my shame – which was the title of the book . . . Trust.

As a Christian, I said I trusted God. And I did, on some levels, but not completely. As I was drawn into the book I leaned so many lessons on trusting myself, trusting my husband, and trusting my friends and associates in our community. But most important, I’m learning to trust God more completely, because ultimately, when I don’t trust myself or others, what I’m really saying is that I believe my insecurity is greater than Gods ability to lead and guide me and that I believe more in others ability to hurt me in some way, than I trust God to keep me safe.  I could write pages and pages just on the lessons I learn from this one book.  But I won’t. Instead, I encourage you to read the book for yourself and begin to hack at the leaves of evil that may darken your life, because there is a beautiful bright future waiting for you.

Lori Maas

8/29/11